(Complete Divine variant, p. 30)

Contemplatives devote their lives to cultivating a greater closeness with their deities.


Skills: Knowledge (religion) 13 ranks

Spells: Able to cast 1st-level divine spells.

Special: Must have had direct contact with one’s patron deity or a direct servant of that deity, or with an enlightened being embodying the highest principles of an alignment (a solar, for example).

Hit die


Skill points

2 + Int

Class Features

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Contemplatives gain no weapon or armor proficiencies.

Spells per Day/Spells Known: A contemplative who was previously a spellcaster continues to gain access to more powerful divine magic while following the contemplative path. Thus, when a new contemplative level is gained, the character gains new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if she had also gained a level in the spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (improved chance of controlling or rebuking undead, more frequent remove disease, and so on). This essentially means that she adds the level of contemplative to the level of whatever other spellcasting class the character has, then determines spells per day accordingly.

If a character had more than one divine spellcasting class before she became a contemplative, the player must decide which class to assign each level of contemplative for the purpose of determining divine spells per day and spells known. If the contemplative did not previously belong to a divine spellcasting class, she gains the ability to cast divine spells exactly as a cleric of her patron deity. Her spell progression is the same as that of a cleric.

Bonus Domain: Upon adopting the contemplative class, and again at 6th level, a character gains access to a bonus domain of her choice. The character can choose any domain made available by her deity or alignment. The character gains the granted power associated with the domain she chooses, and can select the spells in that domain as her daily domain spells.

Divine Health (Ex): A contemplative has immunity to all diseases, including magical diseases such as mummy rot and lycanthropy.

Slippery Mind (Ex): At 2nd level, a contemplative gains the ability to shrug off magical effects that would otherwise control or compel her. If a contemplative with slippery mind is affected by an enchantment and fails her saving throw, one round later she can attempt her saving throw again. She only gets this one extra chance to succeed on her saving throw.

Divine Wholeness (Su): At 3rd level and higher, a contemplative can heal her own wounds, in addition to any other healing ability she may have. She can heal up to four times her contemplative level in hit points each day, and she can spread this healing out among several uses.

Divine Body (Su): At 5th level, a contemplative becomes immune to poisons of all kinds.

Divine Soul (Su): At 7th level, a contemplative gains spell resistance. Her spell resistance equals her class level + 15. In order to affect the contemplative with a spell, a spellcaster must roll the contemplative’s spell resistance or higher on 1d20 + the spellcaster’s level.

Eternal Body (Ex): After achieving 9th level, a contemplative no longer suffers ability penalties for aging and cannot be magically aged. (Penalties she has already suffered remain in place.) Bonuses still accrue, and the contemplative still dies of old age when her time is up.

Mystic Union (Su): At 10th level, a contemplative becomes a magical creature. She is forever more treated as an outsider (native) rather than a humanoid for the purposes of spells and magical effects. Additionally, the contemplative gains damage resistance 10/magic.


Level BAB Fort Ref Will Special Spellcasting
1st +0 +0 +0 +2 Bonus domain, divine health +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
2nd +1 +0 +0 +3 Slippery mind +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
3rd +1 +1 +1 +3 Divine wholeness +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
4th +2 +1 +1 +4 +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
5th +2 +1 +1 +4 Divine body +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
6th +3 +2 +2 +5 Bonus domain +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
7th +3 +2 +2 +5 Divine soul +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
8th +4 +2 +2 +6 +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
9th +4 +3 +3 +6 Eternal body +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class
10th +5 +3 +3 +7 Mystic union +1 level of existing divine spellcasting class

Class skills

Skill name Key ability Trained only Armor check penalty
Concentration CON no no
Craft INT no no
Diplomacy CHA no no
Heal WIS no no
Intimidate CHA no no
Knowledge (religion) INT yes no
Profession WIS yes no
Sense Motive WIS no no
Spellcraft INT yes no

Also appears in

  1. Defenders of the Faith: A Guidebook to Clerics and Paladins

Spells for Contemplative

Comments on this single page only